Events 2019

Pop Up Garden - Craft Table

Sat 20 Mar - Sun 5 May
Add to our craft garden installation to revitalise our local threatened plants.
More Info

Science Shows - Gums to Bums!

Tue 8, 15, 22 & Thur 10, 17, 24 Jan
Follow the path of your breakfast, find out if you are a super taster & help make some poo!
More Info

Fizz & Ferment - Talk & Pop Up Science

Wed 9 Jan
Family- friendly fermentation fun! Learn about the science, health benefits and delicious flavour of fermented foods.
More Info

Exquisite Drawing Machines - Drop in Drawing

Wed 16 Jan
Drop in experimental drawing event where you can make all sorts of weird and wonderful drawings.
More Info

The Next Wave of Plastic - Pop Up Science

Fri 18 Jan
Get hands on while sieving for micro plastics and learn about the impacts our plastic waste is having on our local environment
More Info

Geoscience Rocks! Pop Up Science

Mon 21 Jan
Dig for fossils and even make your own one to take home at this free geo pop up science event
More Info

Slippery Slime Workshop

23 Jan 2019
Get messy while you learn about the science of slime and create your very own slippery slime to take home!
More Info Book Now

Saucy Science for Vivacious Valentines

Thurs 14 Feb
Special Valentine's Day evening at Newcastle Museum
More Info Book Now

The Low End Exhibition

Sat 16 Feb
Join Ackeron st Records for a showcase of musical manipulation.
More Info Buy Ticket

Bean to Cup - Talk

Sun 17 Feb
Learn about all the coffee hows and whys at this free public talk presented by coffee experts from Crema
More Info

Shaping and Managing the Newcastle Coastline

Tue 19 Feb
A presentation focused on our local coastline
More Info

Valuation Day

Saturday 16 March
Book in for a 15-minute informal discussion about your most cherished heirlooms and hidden treasures.
More Info Book Now

Hunter Past in Photos 11

Thurs 28 Mar
Discover the history of Newcastle revealed through photographs
More Info

WORKSHOP: Introduction to Crime Writing with Sandi Wallace

Fri 5 April
For writers keen to start or develop their crime-writing skills in long or short form.
More Info Book Now

NM:PM Roaring Twenties Razors & Ratbags

Sat 6 Apr
Dress up in your 1920s glad rags and join us for a one night only underground party!
More Info RSVP here

Crime at the Museum - Newcastle Writers Festival

Three free events will be held at Newcastle Museum for this years Newcastle Writers Festival. The Story of a Fire: Inside the mind of an arsonist Unlocking the Puzzle A Shrink in the Clink
More Info

Science Shows - Museum Whodunnit

Tuesday 16 & 23 - Thursday 18 April
The science of crime! Examine the clues, dust for fingerprints and extract DNA in this holiday science show!
More Info

Flora & Photographs Workshop

Wednesday 17 April
Combine flora and photography to create cyanotype blue prints.
More Info Book Now

Illustrators Alive!

Friday 26 April
A live exhibit of natural history illustrators
More Info

HISTORY IN THE MUSEUM’S NEIGHBOURHOOD: HONEYSUCKLE AS IT ONCE WAS

Sat 4 May & Sun 19 May
A guided history walking tour of the Honeysuckle area
More Info Book now

Archaeology of Northeast Thailand - Free Talk

Sat 25 May
An archaeological talk on northeast Thailand, uncovering the secrets of civilisation in this amazing region.
More Info

Public Tour - Flora of the Hunter Region

Sat 8 June
Join us for the last weekend of Flora of the Hunter for a public tour and live demonstrations by exhibiting artists
More Info

Hunter Past in Photos 12

Thursday 13 June
Join a panel of experts as they share their stories, experiences and reveal Newcastle’s history through significant photographs
More Info

One Crook, Three Looks

Thursday 20 June
A walk through the dark side of the twenties
More Info Book Now

The Shake Up

22-23 & 29-30 June
A monumental multi-art event for the community about how Novocastrians respond to disaster and change
More Info Register

Science Shows - Quake & Shake

Tuesday 9 & 16 Thursday 11 & 18
Learn about how rocks can fold, snap, melt and explode at our free science shows!
More Info

Detectives Table

Wednesday 10 & 17 July
Learn the tricks of the trade and become an official Museum Detective!
More Info

Ready, Set, SPY! Adventure Trails

12 July - 15 September
Find clues, read the stories and discover new and interesting things with our free SPY MISSION and SPY STORY adventure trails.
More Info

NAIDOC Week at the Museum

Fri 12 July 2019
Join us for a free guided tour of Aboriginal objects and stories in the collection, learn to make rope with local traditional canoe builder and see our new exhibition 'Kuueeyung'.
More Info

SOLD OUT - Turukilliko NESA-accredited Teacher Professional Development Day

Mon 5 Aug
Incorporate Indigenous Knowledge and Culture into Primary and Secondary classrooms in this one day Teacher professional Development Day.
More Info Book Now

Science Week at Newcastle Museum

Mon 12 - Sun 18 Aug 2019
Celebrate Science Week at Newcastle Museum. We have lots of interesting activities for you!
More Info

History Week - Victoria Theatre VR Experience

Sun 1- Sat 7 September (available during regular opening hours)
Enter the oldest standing theatre in NSW, the Victoria Theatre through a VR experience.
More Info

Panel Discussion - Crisis Communications: Lessons from the Earthquake

Thursday 12 September
Join us for a panel discussion on the important role of communication played during the 1989 earthquake and how techniques used then have informed communications today.
More Info Book here

Science Shows - Fire & Ice!

We'll have flames, liquid nitrogen and a hot'n'cold pool party at the Museum Science Shows these holidays.
More Info

Museum Mysteries – Code Breaker Workshop

Wed 2 Oct
Crack codes and ciphers and solve the mysteries in this 1.5-hour code breaking workshop.
More Info Book Now

This is Not Art Festival 2019

Fri 4 Oct - Sun 6 Oct
Emerging & Experimental Arts Festival
More Info

Low Sensory Experience – Newcastle Museum

Mon 21 Oct
A low sensory, family friendly day at Newcastle Museum
More Info Book Now

Hunter Past in Photos 13

Thur 24 Oct
Join a panel of local history aficionados as they dissect the clues and reveal the stories in some of their favourite old photos.
More Info

Creating Newcastle's Civic Precinct: A History Walking Tour

Sun 27 Oct & Sun 3 Nov
Join a guided history walking tour of the Civic area and uncover how the city has transformed into cherished public spaces and what we see today.
More Info Book here

NM:AM Picnic in Museum Park

Sat 9 Nov
Join us for a family picnic day with music, a petting zoo, entertainers and activities to celebrate the new Museum Park.
More Info

NM:PM RED not dead

Sat 9 Nov
We're turning the Museum RED! Come make a raucous and have a raging good time from 5pm! (after the Picnic in Museum Park event).
More Info

Real Film Festival

Sun 17 Nov
Transforming spaces in Newcastle, Lake Macquarie, Maitland and Port Stephens with bold films of real stories and cutting-edge documentaries.
More Info Book Now

Red Friday for World AIDS Day 2019

Fri 29 Dec
ACON’s most iconic and much-loved campaign that raises vital funds to end HIV stigma, prevent new HIV transmissions and support people living with HIV in NSW.
More Info